Skip to content

NaNoWriMo: I’m gonna write me a novel.

October 26, 2010

Every November is NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) and every November, I sign up for it but fail miserably. As in, I don’t even start. But this year I happened to have a dash of inspiration right before the beginning date, so I’ve spent the last few days outlining and starting my novel.

Normally I don’t tell anyone that I joined NaNoWriMo, but this year I’m telling lots of people, so that when (if?) I fail miserably again, a lot of people will be disappointed in me. If I do win, I’ll have a couple people edit it, see if they like it, and publish it in eBook form, which is going to be my reward.

To win, you have to write a 50,000 word novel between November 1 and 30th. That’s 1,667 words per day.

I keep telling myself that if a lobotomized cat can write a novel (I hope you know I mean Stephanie Meyer), then so can I.

Here’s my little synopsis, which I wrote to sound like the back of early 90s paperback YA novels:

Artin is bored with his day-in, day-out, 9 to 5 life, until a car accident leaves him with spontaneously-occurring visions of the future. His life is changed, but he is still directionless, until a vision leads him to Lucy, a mysterious, silver-eyed woman whom he believes to be the love of his life. There is something more to Lucy, though, and he intends to find out what.

And here’s a snippet:

My vibes helped with silly things most of the time, but they also helped my love life. I suppose “helped” is the wrong word. “Ruined” would be a better word.

When I was fifteen, I met a girl named Tina. It was love at first sight. Had we met later in life, I think we would have gotten married right away. The second I laid eyes on her, I knew we were going to be in love for a very, very long time, and we were either going to live happily ever after or break up explosively, leaving us both broken for as many years as we were together.

I took a chance, hoped for the former, but the latter happened shortly after our four year anniversary. She fell in love with someone else, a man who was older, who had direction in life, who was probably short and stocky, who probably liked dogs. Essentially, she was driven to be with the very opposite of me.

Feel free to tell me if it sounds dumb. It’s just a rough draft after all, and I’m mostly trying to churn it out instead of making it sound good.

If you join this year, let me know and I’ll friend you on the site. Here’s my little page, in case you’re interested. I was also considering attending a couple of the regional events, so if you live in my area and would like to join me, let me know and we can carpool or something.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 27, 2010 12:37 pm

    Of course, what a great site and informative posts, I will add backlink – bookmark this site? Regards,
    Reader.

Leave a Reply

