Skip to content

A potentially profitable idea.

October 10, 2010

I made a new banner for the site that I feel better reflects the content of my blog, with a lady cyborg and a book-y feel to it. It took me all of an hour to make, so if you hate it, I won’t be upset. My Photoshop skills are elementary at best, as demonstrated by the following:

Anyway, I have no real content for this post except to explain my current predicament. As I have reached my 1000th hit since starting real posts here, I feel that it may be beneficial for me to get a web host and a domain name and perhaps attempt to market my blog to something a little more substantial than a free WordPress blog. I realize that a majority of my traffic is from people trying to find erotic Twilight fanfic, but I feel with a slight amount of effort (which I, thus far, have put none forth), I could maybe find a small audience with similar feminist science fiction/pop culture interests.

If I were to do this, my goal would be to update frequently with more reviews, pop culture complaints, top ten lists, and sci fi/pop culture feminist news.

Do you think this would be a worthwhile endeavor for me, or should I keep up my current not-for-profit, seldom-updated, difficult-to-properly-customize blog? Also, do you like my new banner?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jeanine Hawkins permalink
    October 11, 2010 6:19 am

    Go for it! I love reading your blog! If you do try to make a profit I’ll visit it several times a day just to accumulate hits!

  2. Amy permalink
    January 25, 2012 6:21 pm

    You should do it. I love reading your blog; I just wish you would post more! Here’s my setup: http://www.amybakerdesigner.com (I’m shameless…). This semester I’m configuring all of my social media marketing in preparation for applying for jobs. What do you think? Care to get together soon? It’s been too long, and we’ve blogs and much more to catch up on!

Leave a Reply

