Skip to content

The Hunger Games: She’s a rebel, she’s a saint.

October 5, 2010

I’ve moved! Please click here to view this post.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Brandon permalink
    October 5, 2010 11:05 pm

    Ooh, thanks! I actually downloaded this for my nook, sadly giving into the hype. I only flipped through the first few pages, and it seemed intriguing enough, though there did seem to be a lot of overwriting going on – especially descriptions that dragged on, or seemed too focused on being the way the character was defined (conveying her attitude, etc.)…but that’s a small criticism based on a book I can’t possibly begin to say I know anything about. To be honest, in order to avoid spoilers, I did mostly glance over this, but as always, I appreciate the academic effort applied to even the frothiest of books. When shall we get the epic Twilight conclusion?!

    And yay for remembering our “stupid, sex-phobic parents” rant from when we went to see Watchmen! 😀

    • October 6, 2010 8:03 am

      Yes! How could I forget that.

      Actually I had complaints about *under*-writing. There would be a tense moment, and all of a sudden, the next paragraph started with “WHEN KATNISS WOKE UP THE NEXT DAY…” You have to take everything with a grain of salt, though. These are young adult novels and nothing more.

  2. JurassicParker permalink
    October 6, 2010 10:59 am

    My parents let me watch Robocop when I was four. It didn’t traumatize me at all! Of course, now nothing can satiate my thirst for VIOLENCE.

    Also Mona Lisa Overdrive alludes to the fact that Henry Dorsett Case got married and had children.
    This problem in media is not just limited to women.

    Otherwise, good read. Book kind of sounds like Battle Royale. We should watch that sometime.

  3. J. Parker permalink
    October 6, 2010 11:03 am

    Oh yeah, and also
    MY SHAAAADOOOOW’S THE ONLYONETHATWALKSBESIDEME

Leave a Reply

