Skip to content

Here are my goals.

April 2, 2010

I tend to make a gross amount of to-do lists when I’m stressed out. I’ll write a list of things I need to do, and then if I accomplish something on it, I have to rewrite the list or append to it or put it on different paper or categorize the items differently. What is ironic about my compulsive list-making is that I don’t feel I’m very organized in many aspects of my life. I’d like to say I am, but if I let my eyes stray from this monitor momentarily to the absolute mess that is a cheap folding table which serves for a desk, I would realize I’d be lying, and I don’t want to do that.

So I devote this entry to my goals: not life goals, but things I’ll attempt in the span of very soon to within the next year or so.

1. Lose 40 pounds. If I accomplish this, I will be losing the better part of a quarter of my body. I could save time and just chop off my limbs, but that would involve buying a tarp for all the blood and I’d rather not spend that. At the moment, I’m working on eating less crap and more salads, and exercising for an hour twice a week. I’d like to exercise more, but there’s just no extra time in my schedule.

2. Get into grad school. I should add to this that I hope to get into grad school and be able to fund myself and also be able to take the significant other with me. BUT!

alt2. Do something else… but important. I realize my resume is not conducive to advancing my academic career. I’m a busy person, sure, but the things I’m busy with are not at all relevant to psychology or research. So if I don’t get into grad school, I’d like to do something important for a year and try again. ‘Something important’ means volunteer work, or advancing the feminist agenda, or doing something active for any subject I’m passionate about. It’ll be an adventure.

3. Be more social. This involves going to meetings of clubs I’ve been in for almost three years, or just being more outgoing in general. I used to be a very social person, but within the past six months, I’ve become a very isolated person and I’m not sure why. It could be because I live way far away from any friends I could potentially have, or because the thought of hanging out with people and having to be someone other than Anonymous Student #57 or That Bank Teller I See on Fridays kind of makes me freak out. So hey, if you’re reading this and know me IRL and live within an hour of me, we should hang out sometime. I can buy you a $5 footlong over lunch or something.

4. Save up enough so that I can go on vacation. The significant other and I want to go to California where the (potentially) in-laws are. I would like to do this without worrying that we won’t have money for food when we get home. That’s it.

5. Build a vegetable garden! I’ll probably be writing about this a lot. My father and I have started building a small (not that small: 20’x30′) vegetable garden in his backyard for the spring and summer. We hope to give the produce to our family or can it or donate it if there’s some left over. Hopefully I’ll have pictures soon so I can show the progress we’re making. I’m really excited about it.

I guess that’s all. I may post some entries later from my last blog that would be relevant to this one. Have a happy day.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Parker permalink
    April 2, 2010 2:15 pm

    This all sounds good!
    Love & appreciation, see you in a second.

  2. bjulman permalink
    April 2, 2010 4:25 pm

    I agree with Mr. Parker, these are sturdy goals. Any assistance you need, let me know, and I shall see what I can do!

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

