Skip to content

This is the first post.

March 30, 2010

When I started writing at age 12, blogging was supposed to be an open diary type deal, and that’s how everyone treated it. Now to start a blog, your goal is to get traffic, and you get traffic by creating a blog about a subject you feel you have a moderate amount of expertise on that other people can benefit from. I have no expertise, but I want to blog, and I don’t want to pretend I know anything about anything because I don’t. So I propose beginning a blog of random things because I feel like it.

I’ll begin with some narcissism (because sometimes people just like writing about themselves):

About Me

I’m 20. I live on my own with my significant other in an apartment we don’t really like and which does not stay clean. I go to college. I work. I work. I work. More on that later. I am a feminist. I am lazy. I am filled with contradictions and misconceptions. I am a do-it-yourselfer. My mom, dad, sister, and significant other are my best friends. I don’t have many friends I think because I’m not a good friend to have. I am a writer. I am not a thinker. I am finished with this segment.

My Interests (and thus what will most likely be contained in this blog)

I enjoy discussing feminism and the media. I like to sew, crochet, knit, and best of all, purchase crafting goods in hopes to eventually create an object that costs less and is better quality than what I can buy in a store from a slave child in another country. I like to bake and cook, but I do neither very often. I like anything science fiction and will pay full price to see any science fiction film. I also enjoy harshly critiquing all films I see. I like to be around children, not in a creepy way, but because I think kids are fun to be around. Above all else, I like to make lists. This blog will contain many lists.

My Occupations

I define an occupation as anything I can label myself based on portions of my time I am obligated to spend somewhere doing something specific. Therefore, I am a student, a bank teller, a dress presser, and an administrative assistant. I go to school full time to eventually (about a year, really) get my BS in psychology (yes, BS does in fact stand for ‘bullshit’).  After that, I hope to eventually go to grad school and get my PhD in blah blah blah boring stuff involving statistics and probes and saying things like, “So tell me about your father.” This means I have three paying jobs and I work several months out of the year 45 hours a week while taking 16 credit hours or more at school. It’s not as bad as it seems, though, I promise. And don’t get the idea I’m a hard worker because I’m not. I just don’t know the meaning of “spreading oneself too thin,” and I am desperately poor.

I guess that’s it for this entry. I have more thoughts and ideas I’ll probably post later. I just wanted to get the first post out of the way. Thanks for reading.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. bakerae permalink
    April 1, 2010 1:34 pm

    I personally think that you are fantastic friend to have! I’m pretty sure you are one of about 5 people that I am still in contact with from high school. I stay in touch not because I am trying to hold on to my youth and relive all of our high school glory (we need punctuation for sarcasm. Look up SarkMark… it may give you a laugh), but rather because you are a friend who encourages personal growth in others. You give great hugs, the best advice, and lots of laughs. Not to mention you are vastly entertaining, almost always have wine, and that adorable bunny nose. I’m looking forward to reading this blog.

    (This is Amy btw, tell the significant other I said hello!)

  2. Lauren permalink
    April 1, 2010 5:08 pm

    Why are the robots sad? I read the whole thing trying to find out.

Leave a Reply

